Skandix group-buy is back after the success of the first one. See this thread for more info

240 Need help with ECU numbers

Hey guys, long time reader but first time posting.

Recently I've been collecting parts for a +T on my 1990 240GL wagon

Bit of background is that the car was originally an auto but I swapped it over to an M46, it's got an LH2.4 system on it and the crank angle sensor on the flywheel. The ECU is the 951 and the car is a 1990 but I think the build date is actually late 89.

I'm looking for an ECU that will work for my turbo setup on which I only plan to run stock or around 7-8PSI on the B230F. Most forum posts seem to always refer back to http://www.nuceng.ca/bill/volvo/database/ecu.htm but there I found something interesting that apparently the 951 ECU in my car is only 1993 and onwards and doesn't have a cold start injector. When I've seen my ECU for sale it's almost always out of 940 not 240

My car is 1990 not 1990+ and also does have a cold start injector (worth noting my car often has an idle problem when cold but I thought this was the ICV). So is it possible my car has already had a replacement ECU or is that list incorrect for our market or just incorrect in general?

So my questions are:

1) Is this likely to be my original ECU or is this out of the norm (possibly replaced)

2) If the 951 is my original ECU would I best to try find a 954 (turbo) as I assume it would only be a software difference for boostiness or will I be fine with the much more abundant 563 or any other turbo LH2.4 computer?

3) If I am completely incorrect with all of this can someone help me find the right ECUs for this application?

4) Does anyone know anywhere in AUS that I can find the ECU I need?

Cheers lads, sorry for any noobness

Tagged:

Comments

• Firstly, welcome.

Your idle issues may be related to the Idle Air Control valve. Presuming you have no vacuum leaks, a thorough cleaning of the IAC valve with carby cleaner couldn't hurt anything.

Answers -