T5 no boost

Hey guys

I've just purchased a 2004 s60 T5 and noticed when I was driving it felt quite low on boost so I decided to install a boost gauge which is telling me I’m only get maximum of 4psi. I’ve check the wastegate, hoses for leaks, bypassed the boost pressure sensor and still minimal boost. I’m new to these cars so it’s tickling my brain. Any help of advise would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• The wastegate is a 4psi wastegate

Sounds like the electronic boost solenoid has failed ( somewhat common) ipdusa.com sell a nice upgrade unit as a kit

Rbs60
  • Rbs60Ryan @Rbs60 Goulburn nsw

Oh ok so there set at 4 psi standard?

• Yeah @Philia_Bear is right it's more than likely your turbo control solenoid (lives on the side of the airbox with 3 vacuum lines)

Rbs60

so that would cause no boost at times and up-to 4psi other times?

Also if I upgrade the wastegate to effectively allow more boost would that work or is there more things necessary to achieve more?

• Basically Ecu sees boost from the pressure sensor, ecu uses turbo control valve to reach target boost pressure.

Unless you tune the ecu (me7) then you can't really adjust the peak boost, but you should be seeing more than 4psi

Turbo control valve is a simple solenoid opening and closing at high frequency. They usually stick/jam up randomly. So is usually the cause of any intermittent boost issues.

Do you have the ability to read fault codes or see live ecu data?

oh ok that makes sense. I do have a mate with a shop and a scan tool if that would work for codes of data?

Or data

• 04 s60 you can read live data and see what the ecu sees

not all scan tools will work on volvo so cant advise if your mates will or wont work

Hey guys

so I picked up a second hand boost solenoid today just to see if that’s the issue and still the same problem! Only reading 0-1psi on boost gauge even under load😡

any other ideas?

• Basic checks