240 Aftermarket stereo fitment help needed please

Hi guys so I have a 1992 240 sedan with the original tape deck and I'm trying to switch it out for a single din system problem is though the face plate doesn't fit over the new unit. I can find online the metra 99-9222 dash kits but they seem to be for left hand drive versions only so is there any other plates/ kits that fit over the new stereo or work around this problem without cutting the original plate to fit

Second problem

Once the unit is in it how am I going to secure it so it doesn't just bounce around because the original tape deck is way thicker than the new unit

Am I just being stupid and missing something or is this a common problem because I can't find anything on the internet about this😂😂😂

BTW this is my first time owning a Volvo so I'm pretty new to the scene 😅

Thanks

Comments

• jamesincJames @jamesinc Oz Volvo Ice Fortress

Hey @cjwm97 welcome to the forums - in the kit you linked, you're right that the mount for the deck at the top of your dash, above the vents, would be wrong for a RHD car, but the kit also comes with a sort of trapezoid shaped fascia that is designed to fit down in the lowest position in the console, just above the transmission tunnel, which is where a lot of older 240s mount the stereo.

To put it in the top position I think you'd just need to make your own or modify the stock bracket.