2019 Nationals in Bathurst are 8-10 November, just over three months away! Make sure to register at ozvolvo.org/nationals!

Project Bluey the 1991 240

edited May 2018 in RWD
Hi, this is a build thread for my first Volvo, daily and project car, a blue 1991 240. Will also serve as a timeline of events with the 240 for future reference.
sT52F1Th.jpg

Will start by telling you who I am. I'm a 19 year old apprentice for Volkswagen, enjoying my work for the last 6 months I've been training. Wanted something as a project car, so I chose this blue 240. It's surprising how many people told me NOT to buy a Volvo because they are unreliable and hard to get parts for (not sure how true either of these are), but I did it anyway....
81CNgugh.jpg

Ok so just outlining some of the goals for this build before I get started on the timeline:
I intend to daily this car for some time, until it can no longer be registered (modifications too extensive, too powerful, too awesome etc...)
I intend to drift this at a closed track once in a while, mostly because I had a ride along once in 2016 with a mate in his Silvia and loved every second of it. Also I've played way to many racing car games.
5tfkW1ih.jpg

A turbo conversion will hopefully be coming using 7 or 9 series parts, then maybe an eventual engine swap (thinking 1jz)
cvbGeMAh.jpg

Ok, so timeline:
March 2017

Found a very clean 240 on gumtree, no rego (from VIC), auto with 260ks on the clock. Got in touch with the seller, inspected, test drove and bought it not long after. Interior is pretty clean apart from a centre console and dash crack, and the speakers don't work. Exterior had a few marks on the boot lid, a exterior trim peice had been bent, and a prior attempt to fix this (self tapping screw) had failed. Clock and odometer still operated, so I bought it for a tidy $1250. Drove it home (morisset-ish) from Sydney and parked her up on our steep driveway.

April 2017
First mod!