240 strut mounts - opinions

jamesincJames (@jamesinc) Sydney NSW
in Questions & Troubleshooting 6807 / 384joined Jul 2013
Nina's 244 has failing strut mounts. I believe they were Meyle and I installed them a bit over two years ago. It seems I only have three options for replacement: Meyle, Skandix "OE Quality" part, or Volvo OE.

Anyone care to weigh in with opinions?

Much appreciated

Comments

  • Ex850RSnoopy (@Ex850R) Somewhere Over the Rainbow. Melbourne.
    9132 / 160joined Jul 2013
    I am considering these, do away with all the problems. Adjustable in a few directions.
    And of course, Kaplhenke !

    https://www.kaplhenke.com/collections/240/products/240-spherical-offset-strut-mounts
    Spac -
    "High speed rail, Melbourne to Brisvegas!
    I retain a deep suspicion, but maybe these shitcunts will actually manage to do something not entirely shit?"
  • Ex850RSnoopy (@Ex850R) Somewhere Over the Rainbow. Melbourne.
    9132 / 160joined Jul 2013
    TLxySJhh.jpg
  • jamesincJames (@jamesinc) Sydney NSW
    6807 / 384joined Jul 2013
    No, I don't want rosejointed strut tops, this is a daily driver with standard suspension.
  • 278 / 17joined Jun 2014
    I fitted a Meyle one a couple of weeks ago to a customer's car (they supplied the part) and it knocked

    zero stars
    nickm
  • bgpzfm142bgpzfm142 (@bgpzfm142) near Katoomba NSW
    1892 / 105joined Feb 2014
    Funny, just wrote to @AshDVS earlier this week about this very same subject. (The 'Beating around the bush(es) thread).

    Choice of .... GAZ non-adjustable solids with spherical bearings at about $390 pair, or a pair of good OE style replacements at about $146.

    Haven't decided yet, but I'm leaning towards the GAZ.
    1LQhVAhm.png
    71 1800E |73 144 |74 142 |74 145 |79 242GT |88 780 |93 945T |2010 S80 V8
  • 264 / 52joined Jul 2013
    Anyone running solid mounts on a daily? How's the NVH compared to stock rubber?
    '88 245
    '88 245 turbo
  • jamesincJames (@jamesinc) Sydney NSW
    6807 / 384joined Jul 2013
    @AshDVS what do you have available in the OE style?
  • 8692 / 73joined Jul 2013
    Im just doing uro at $20 a side and replacing them every 12 months at the same time as the engine mounts
    I think you need to add i was in an s80 with three wheels getting pulled backwards and was told to "hold on shit is about to get real".
  • Ex850RSnoopy (@Ex850R) Somewhere Over the Rainbow. Melbourne.
    9132 / 160joined Jul 2013
    Anyone running solid mounts on a daily? How's the NVH compared to stock rubber?

    Maybe the rest of the bushes will chop out quicker?
  • DCW242Duncan (@DCW242) - point cook. victoria
    542 / 96joined Apr 2014
    I put Meyle ones in my 240 around two years, I wasn't that happy with them. When I got them one of bearings was loose, I had to put it in a press and crimp the tabs down all the way till the bearing was tight. Also even though the studs are the same length, the thread don't go all the way up the stud, so I can't fit a strut brace.
    I fitted KYB ones to my 264, they were much nicer, very well made, they had the full length studs, and a better way of holding the bearings in. I got them from FCP, at the time they were about the same price as the Meyle ones. I was planning to buy another set for a project soon, but I just had another look and it seems they no longer stock them.
  • nickmnicko (@nickm) Sydeneee --- home of the traffic jamb, over priced coffee, and the 2000 Olympics
    edited May 19 2324 / 31joined Jul 2013
    What if they pop out of the bonnet. A set of uro ones did on me after 6 months.
    try a sig
  • Ex850RSnoopy (@Ex850R) Somewhere Over the Rainbow. Melbourne.
    9132 / 160joined Jul 2013
    @DCW242
    Duncan it may be worth asking them,all stuff isn't on the lists.
  • edited May 20 198 / 7joined Jul 2013
    If you don't want to upgrade to a solid mounting style then Volvo OE is the way to go. Mine look and feel fine after a good number of years and km.
Sign In or Register to comment.