Al's XC90

Comments

• that only affects MY10-11 AFAIK (batch of bad hoses from memory)
  • bigalbigal (@bigal) Tasmania
    edited March 2017
    Here's a cheap fix I can do this weekend. It should get me by until I can order a new pump and fit it.

I think I'll go this glue:

http://www.loctiteproducts.com/p/13/7/epxy_plstc_s/overview/Loctite-Epoxy-Plastic-Bonder.htm
  • that only affects MY10-11 AFAIK (batch of bad hoses from memory)

ah yes.. you're right.
    Vee_Que
  • Thanks @pauljloz

Was yours smelling like this also?

Yes same as you describe.
  • Another job I must do this weekend is install new front pads. I've never done this before on a modern car.. only the old volvo.

Is this the right procedure to follow?

edited March 2017
    Suprisingly found a local parts store with a set of 4 front pads in stock. Quite unexpected in this town. Plus they had 25% off. TRW pads for $87.75. They might be crap but pads were urgent as I just started to hear that metal grinding noise.

This procedure in the video above appeared unnecessary to me. I think he undid too many bolts. I just undid the guide pins, turned the top caliper housing over, clamped the piston back, installed pads and slapped er back together. 1st one took 2 hours as wasn't sure what procedure to follow, 2nd one about 30min.

About to do the first trial run and will follow the warning of not to brake hard in the first 150 miles.

What could go wrong?!
    (Just an unstoppable tank is all).

5OGcqGeh.jpg

cW8brIbh.jpg

ok2VzNAh.jpg
    edited March 2017
    I have a confession to make. I put the wrong pads in the other day. Took it round the block and didn't feel right. Examined the TRW catalogue further and realised I put in the later pads which have a bee's dick difference. Anyhow, bought the correct pads this time (TRW's at the weekend sale at Repco) and put them in today. I cleaned and lubed the glide pins with brake grease this time and all went back together perfectly. Brakes are spot on now.