Boring 240, back to rego thread.

turboslobtBob (@turboslob) Canberra region
Bought a 1990 240 wagon which is a bit rough. I’m no mechanic, but I’m going to attempt to get it back on the road.
To start, I’ve made two lists that I’ll attempt to prioritise. First, ‘to do before rego’ followed by ‘post rego/dreaming’. Who knows how realistic they are; I’ve a habit of buying and selling.

Prior to rego

New battery (current is dead).
Get it running smooth (surging idle, stumbling at low RPM, stalling etc).
Fix lights (need new lense on rear and need to inspect front left [kangaroo hit] damage to determine what needs to be done).
Confirm if it needs new engine mounts (engine moves around a little, unsure if it’s excessive or normal).
Fluids change (oil, oil filter, inspect air filter, transmission, diff, inspect brake & P/S fluid). Flame trap examine
Look at oil leaks and determine how bad they are.
Sort out the rubber stripes along sides. Thinking of removing them all, but it looks like glue is now along the doors. Any idea if what can remove this without stuffing the paint?

Post rego (or earlier if I have the above done)
Replace driver’s seat
Sort A/C
M47 swap
Get it to handle better
Get stereo to work

So far (after I wrote the above), I gave it a quick wash and recharged the battery – seems to have worked. Also, found lower, outside rubber door trim for both sides. Will re-glue.

Current questions:

1. Are the passenger and driver seats interchangeable?
2. If you suspect stale fuel (I’m confident most is a year or so old), is there an easy way to drain? If, not, it may be easier to idle it in the driveway and pop in some fresher stuff.
3. What do people use to re-attach the outer, lower door rubber? I have some re-attaching to do.

Thanks, Slob.

Hoping having this thread inspires me to get it back on the road.

Comments

• turboslobtBob (@turboslob) Canberra region
    i2igi96l50td.jpg
    3n9nn7d458gj.jpg
    dgrkbdw9s8ve.jpg
    vb60cdd97qyl.jpg