XC60 3.6 or V8. which is the better motor

So I'm looking at xc90's for my wife 😋. Which motor version would be best? Pro and cons for each.
Cheers

Comments

• RobRob (@Rob) - Lockyer Valley, SE Qld
    edited March 29
    Generally D5 > V8 > 2.5T > 3.2 > T6
  • Ex850RSnoopy (@Ex850R) Somewhere Over the Rainbow. Melbourne.
    In an xc90 I'd put the 3.2 over a 2.5anyday.
    Unless you hot up the 2.5 and work it hard it's just so slow and dangerous in my mind.
    cancer sucks
  • The 2.5 sure isn't going to win any races, but that's not what these cars are made for. From what I've heard and I'm not good at the later model cars at all, the 2.5 has a much better track record for complaints than the 3.2
    edited March 30
    Berry's xc70 with 3.2lt just sold to a mate, running like a sewing machine with well over 300K on it.
    You are only going to hear about the bad....
    The 2.5 is wrong in power delivery and lack of power.
    3.2 perfect for it.
    My 3.0 T6 is same as 3.2 basically. They use varying degrees of oil, only some give a warning to top up between services. Use decent oil and it helps.
    Can have all sorts of other issues just like all volvo engines and pretty well any other modern car out there. It's modern motors on a fine line basically.
  • V8 or D5 or don't bother
    Robjamesinc
  • iceton1975POM (MARK) (@iceton1975) Broadmeadows Victoria
    D5 few issues V8 suffer Transmission issues but good motor and smiles for miles
  • Berry's xc70 with 3.2lt just sold to a mate, running like a sewing machine with well over 300K on it.
    You are only going to hear about the bad....
    The 2.5 is wrong in power delivery and lack of power.
    3.2 perfect for it.

Red Book specs

3.2:
    Engine Code
    B6324S
    Power
    175kW @ 6200rpm
    Torque
    320Nm @ 3200rpm
    Power to Weight Ratio
    80.1 W/kg
    Acceleration 0-100km/h
    9.5 s

Engine Code
    B5254T
    Power
    154kW @ 5000rpm
    Torque
    320Nm @ 1500-4500rpm